Home / Letter A / Amorphis


Amorphis is a Finnish heavy metal band from Uusimaa, Helsinki. He is trained by Jan Rechberger, Tomi Koivusaari and Esa Holopainen in 1990>. Performing at their beginning a progressive death / doom metal with some gothic metal nuances, their musical style evolved towards a modern and melodic metal.

Amorphis was formed in 1990 by guitarist-composer Esa Holopainen and drummer and keyboardist Jan Rechberger, joined by guitarist and singer Tomi Koivusaari and bassist Olli Pekka-wool >>>.

The band recorded a demo, "Disment of Soul", then signed a contract with the American label Relapse Records in 1991>. The band, which plays mainly death metal, recorded some titles that will be released on EP Privilege of Evil released in 1993 before devoting their first studio album, The Karelian Isthmus , released in 1992>. The lyrics of the album mainly address the themes of war, religion and Celtic mythology.

In 1994, Amorphis released a second album, Tales from the 1000 Lakes . This one proposes a mixture of death and doom metal going even towards heavy, with many progressive elements. City Tuomi's singing> adds a melodic dimension to the band's style. The ensemble derives its concept from a long Finnish epic poem by the name of Kalevala. After a long European tour alongside the groups Paradise Lost and Tiamat>, the group released in 1995 the EP Black Winter Day , containing unpublished sessions of the second album. Shortly after Jan Rechberger left the band and Pekka Kasari replaced him as drummer.

© All rights reserved 2024. GProTab.net
This website uses cookies for functionality, analytics as described in our Privacy Policy. If you agree to our use of cookies, please continue to use our site OK