Home / Letter A / Apocalyptica


Apocalyptica is a Finnish heavy metal band from Helsinki. Composed of cellists and a drummer, it has the distinction of devoting its repertoire to heavy metal music, whether original compositions or covers. Apocalyptica was formed in 1993 by Eicca Toppinen, Paavo Lötjönen, Max Lilja and Antero Manninen (replaced by Perttu Kivilaakso after his departure in 1999), all from the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki. The leaders and composers of the group are Eicca Toppinen and Perttu Kivilaakso. The group is illustrated with the German group Rammstein by performing the first part of the tour Reise, Reise in 2005. Since then, they have performed numerous concerts throughout Europe, North America, Mexico and even Japan, as well as participated in various festivals around the world, including the Hellfest in Clisson, France, and the festival. summer of Quebec in Canada. Longer and longer tours take place after each album release. Apocalyptica was formed in 1993. In 1996, Apocalyptica released its first studio album, Plays Metallica by Four Cellos, which consisted of covers of Metallica on the cello. Apocalyptica makes himself known by providing the first part of these during their tour in Finland. They then participate in two songs from Waltari's album "Space Avenue" in 1997>. In 1998, Apocalyptica released her second studio album, Inquisition Symphony , produced by Hiili Hiilesmaa. Inquisition Symphony also includes covers of Metallica, but also Faith No More, Sepultura, and Pantera. For the album, the band also decides to include three original songs written by Eicca Toppinen. In 1999, Antero Manninen left the group, and was replaced by Perttu Kivilaakso, already present in the formation in 1995. In 2000, Apocalyptica released his third album, Cult , which included 10 original songs, and three covers. Shortly after, Apocalyptica publishes his first vocal song, Path Vol. 2 . In 2002, Max Lilja left the group and joined Hevein, leaving three members of the group behind him. In 2003, Apocalyptica released its fourth studio album, Reflections , which includes entirely original songs. Dave Lombardo of Slayer participates in the drums on five songs of Reflections, with the session drummer Sami Kuoppamäki who plays the rest of the songs. In 2005, Apocalyptica released his fifth self-titled album. In particular, he took part in HIM City Valo, Lauri Ylönen of The Rasmus, and once again Dave Lombardo. The group later plays with Marta Jandová and represents Baden-Württemberg in the Bundesvision Song Contest 2005, the song Wie weit, which places them fifth with 77 points>.

© All rights reserved 2024. GProTab.net
This website uses cookies for functionality, analytics as described in our Privacy Policy. If you agree to our use of cookies, please continue to use our site OK