Home / Letter B / Berri txarrak

Berri txarrak

Berri Txarrak is an alternative Basque rock band from Lekunberri, Navarre. Their pieces are sung in Basque.

Berri Txarrak, which means "bad news" in Euskara, was formed in 1994 around Gorka Urbizu, Aitor Goikoetxea (who were then playing together in the Nahi Ta Nahiez group), Mikel López and Aitor Oreja, until last left the group in 2005 just after the tour that followed the release of their fourth album Libre © >>>>>>>. After the departure of Aitor Oreja, the formation decides to continue playing without looking for a new guitarist. In May 2008, bassist Mikel López left the group for personal reasons, and was replaced by David González. In August 2010, Aitor Goikoetxea leaves Berri Txarrak considering that it is time for him to embark on other projects and is replaced Galder Izaguirre, the former drummer of Kuraia and Dut.

Their first three albums (Berri Txarrak, Ikasten and Eskuak / Ukabilak) developed a musical style that blended punk rock, hardcore and metal. With Libre ©, in 2003, they introduce more melodic elements without losing the strength of other albums. This album is well received by critics and is named Best Album of the Year by Rock Sound and Euskadi Gaztea magazines.

Their fifth album, Jaio.Musika.Hil, allows them to make a three-year international tour of the United States, Nicaragua, Mexico, Taiwan and Japan (they play at the opening of the Fuji Rock Festival in 2008) and to cross Europe on multiple occasions. This tour gave rise to the release of a rock documentary published in DVD format in 2007, under the name Zertarako amestu: Jaio.Musika.Hil egunak.

© All rights reserved 2022. GProTab.net
This website uses cookies for functionality, analytics and advertising purposes as described in our Privacy Policy. If you agree to our use of cookies, please continue to use our site OK