Home / Letter B / Bloodbath


Bloodbath is a Swedish death metal band from Stockholm. Formed in 2000, the band has a total of five studio albums, two EPs and two DVDs of their performances at Wacken Open Air (in 2005) and Bloodstock Open Air (in 2010). The group includes Martin Axenrot (Opeth), Anders Nyström (Katatonia), Jonas Renkse (Katatonia), Nick Holmes (Paradise Lost), and Per Eriksson.

The group begins by recording the EP Breeding Death in 2000 with Mikael Åkerfeldt (Opeth) on vocals, Dan Swanö (Edge of Sanity, Nightingale, and others) on drums, Anders "Blakkheim" Nyström (Katatonia, Diabolical Masquerade) on guitar and Jonas Renkse (Katatonia, October Tide) on bass. Following positive feedback from their fans, the band decided to record a full album. Two years later comes out Resurrection Through Carnage .

In 2004, Mikael Åkerfeldt left Bloodbath to focus on Opeth, his main band. To replace him, Bloodbath engages Peter Tägtgren of Hypocrisy. Other training changes follow with Dan Swanö who moves from drummer to guitarist and Martin Axenrot (Witchery, Satanic Slaughter and now Opeth) who takes his place on drums. The second album, Nightmares Made Flesh , was released in Europe on September 27, 2004. In February 2005 it was Peter Tägtgren who left the band because of "Scheduling conflicts">. The same year, Mikael Åkerfeldt returns to the band for a single concert at the Wacken Open Air Festival in Germany. Before the concert, the group announces that it could be the first and last show of Bloodbath (with Mikael Åkerfeldt on vocals). In September, Bloodbath begins to search for a new singer.

In August 2006, Dan Swanö left the band due to musical differences and his lack of involvement in the future of the project >>>. At the same time auditions to find a new singer are stopped and no substitute is chosen. Announcement is made, on March 27, 2007, of the preparation of a maxi CD with a new formation. Four songs will appear on the album, each member getting involved in writing a song. This maxi will be named Unblessing the Purity and it is Akerfeldt who returns behind the microphone to offer a "chant" < / span> more raucous and deep. The band's last album is The Fathomless Mastery , which is recorded between July and August 2008, and published in October 2008.

© All rights reserved 2024. GProTab.net
This website uses cookies for functionality, analytics as described in our Privacy Policy. If you agree to our use of cookies, please continue to use our site OK