Home / Letter C / Caifanes


Caifanes is a Mexican alternative rock band from Mexico City. Created in 1987, the initial formation of Caifanes consists of Saúl Hernández (vocals and guitar), Sabo Romo (bass), Diego Herrera (keyboard) and Alfonso André (drums). They arrive finally to RCA Ariola, the singles Mátenme porque me muero, the Negra tomasaet Perdí mi ojo de venado extracts of the album began to pass weakly on the radio.

In 1990, they began recording a second album called Caifanes II. In 1992, they began recording El Silencio, an album produced by Adrian Belew, who collaborated with various bands such as King Crimson. In 1994, they released the album El Nervio del volcán. The group separates in 1995 and returns in 2011>.

The origins of Caifanes are, in part, traced back to another Mexican group called Las Insólitas Imágenes de Aurora. It was formed in 1984 at the initiative of Alejandro Marcovich at the request of his brother Carlos, who was studying cinema and needed money to develop his thesis and obtain his professional degree. At this time, Carlos asks his brother to organize a party with a band on stage. Alejandro is looking for other musicians to join his new band: he then recruits Alfonso André, a drummer friend of his brother Carlos, and Saúl Hernández, who was for the moment part of another group called Frac, and who initially refused to participate to the group; two days before the date scheduled for the party, Saúl will change his mind and start repeating with Alfonso and Alejandro. Officially, Las Insólitas (as they are commonly called) have no known discography.

Around 1986, Saúl unites with other musicians. However, tensions between Saúl and Alejandro surface and the group separates, an event that will eventually give birth to Caifanes.

© All rights reserved 2024. GProTab.net
This website uses cookies for functionality, analytics as described in our Privacy Policy. If you agree to our use of cookies, please continue to use our site OK