Home / Letter H / Hammerfall


HammerFall is a power metal band> Swedish, from Gothenburg>. The group was formed in 1993, initially composed of guitarist Ceremonial Oath, Oscar Dronjak and Jesper Strömblad of In Flames as a parallel musical project.

In early 1997, the German Nuclear Blast label offered HammerFall a contract for the European market, including the production of four albums. The band will release four albums on the label: Glory to the Brave in 1997, Legacy of Kings in 1998, Renegade in 2000 and Crimson Thunder in 2002. HammerFall meets in 2014 with producer Fredrik Nordström for a new album.

HammerFall is formed in 1993> when the guitarist Oscar Dronjak leaves Ceremonial Oath and invites Jesper Strömblad (In Flames) to join him to set up a new musical project. Dronjak has already composed the song at the time, and it will be included on HammerFall's debut album a few years later>. The group was joined shortly after by guitarist Niklas Sundin, bassist Johann Larsson and singer Mikael Stanne (Dark Tranquility). When Niklas Sundin and Johann Larsson leave HammerFall the following year, Glenn Ljungström (ex-In Flames) and Fredrik Larsson (bassist of the former Swedish death metal band Dispatched) replace them.

Dronjak and Strömblad played at the time in other bands: Dronjak's Crystal Age band, which also has mixed success, and the band that will greatly influence Swedish melodic death metal, In Flames, by Strömblad. However, HammerFall continues to be a parallel musical project for many years. Their concerts are mostly limited to a local music contest called Rockslaget>. At the time, the band had only a few songs and played mainly covers by bands such as Pretty Maids, Judas Priest and Alice Cooper.

© All rights reserved 2024. GProTab.net
This website uses cookies for functionality, analytics as described in our Privacy Policy. If you agree to our use of cookies, please continue to use our site OK