Home / Letter H / Hypocrisy


Hypocrisy is a Swedish melodic death metal band from Ludvika, Stockholm. Formed in 1990 by and around its leader Peter Tägtgren, the group is one of the leaders of the very prolific Scandinavian metal scene.

In 1990, the guitarist Peter Tägtgren comes back tired of the small jobs of seed he accumulates during a stay of several months in Florida, one of the cradles of death metal, and decides to embark on a solo project, influenced by his idols named among others Morbid Angel, Obituary, Death or Deicide. The group is initially called Seditious>.

After recording his first demo, Rest in Pain, entirely alone, Peter recruits singer Masse Broberg, guitarist Jonas Österberg, bassist Mikael Hedlund and Hungarian-born drummer Lars Szöke. This band recorded a first album in 1992 titled Penetralia which synthesizes the aforementioned influences with a Scandinavian melodic touch and more. The following year, in 1993, Hypocrisy recorded the album Osculum Obscenum, musically in the same vein, without the guitarist Jonas Österberg, gone to other horizons. A few months later, the vocalist Masse Broberg also leaves the band. Peter Tägtgren decides to continue in the form of a trio and to assume himself the vocal parts. Under this training, Hypocrisy makes the albums The Fourth Dimension (1994), Abducted (1996, which contains his classic Roswell 47 ) and The Final Chapter (1997).

In parallel with Hypocrisy, Peter Tägtgren begins to develop his skills as a producer by producing black metal bands Dimmu Borgir, Immortal and Dark Funeral in his personal studio, Abyss Studio. It will gradually become one of the most renowned producers in its style .

© All rights reserved 2024. GProTab.net
This website uses cookies for functionality, analytics as described in our Privacy Policy. If you agree to our use of cookies, please continue to use our site OK