Home / Letter L / Lost prophets

Lost prophets

Lostprophets is a British rock band from Pontypridd, Wales. Formed in 1997 by singer and songwriter Ian Watkins, bassist (then guitarist) Mike Lewis, drummer Mike Chiplin and guitarist Lee Gaze, the band is a parallel hardcore punk project by Public Disturbance. They are also part of the Cardiff music scene.

Following the sex scandal involving the group's leader, Ian Watkins, sentenced to 35 years in prison for acts of pedophilia>, the group officially announces its separation on October 1, 2013>.

As a childhood friend, Lostprophets grows up in Pontypridd> (nicknamed "Ponty") near Cardiff in Wales. Lewis and Watkins form Lostprophets (at the time called Lozt Prophetz) with Lee Gaze and Mike Chiplin. Later, join them Stuart Richardson and Jamie Oliver to record thefakesoundofprogress which will allow them to sign a contract in 1999. In 2000 will release their first album The Fake Sound of Progress that will associate them with the nu metal movement.

The band's first album, The Fake Sound of Progress , was released on Visible Noise in November 2000>. Recorded in less than two weeks with a budget of £ 4000, the album includes a variety of styles, and will later be reissued to the Columbia Records label. Shortly after finishing the album, DJ Stepzak decides to leave, and is replaced by Jamie Oliver, who is basically a photographer for the band; Oliver then takes control of the turntables and becomes the DJ of the group.

© All rights reserved 2024. GProTab.net
This website uses cookies for functionality, analytics as described in our Privacy Policy. If you agree to our use of cookies, please continue to use our site OK