Home / Letter M / Marshall tucker band

Marshall tucker band

The Marshall Tucker Band is a Southern rock band founded in 1972.

Originally from Spartanburg, South Carolina, the band was established in 1972, and began their career with Capricorn Records. Their first album The Marshall Tucker Band was released in 1973.

Compared to the pioneers of Southern rock and their colleagues The Allman Brothers Band, The Marshall Tucker Band had a much more country-oriented sound, where the flute predominated, as with Jethro Tull. Among their greatest hits are "Can not You See", "Fire on the Mountain", "This Ol 'Cowboy" and "Heard It in a Love Song".

The band was formed by singer Doug Gray, guitarist Toy Caldwell (born in 1948, died February 25, 1993), his brother bassist Tommy Caldwell (born 1950, died April 4, 1980), guitarist George McCorkle (born 1947, died June 29th, 2007), drummer Paul Riddle and flutist and saxophonist Jerry Eubanks. He was signed at Capricorn Records and released his first album, The Marshall Tucker Band, in March 1973. They gained recognition by performing the first part of the Allman Brothers Band and found significant success in the 1970s, with most from their albums become gold records. Their top came with the million-dollar Carolina Dreams album sales and its Top 15 single "Heard It In A Love Sng" in 1977. Since then, the band has continued to compose, record, and shoot despite the deaths success of Tommy Caldwell (bassist and band leader) in 1980, in a car accident, and Toy Caldwell (solo guitarist and true "soul" of the group) in 1993.

© All rights reserved 2024. GProTab.net
This website uses cookies for functionality, analytics as described in our Privacy Policy. If you agree to our use of cookies, please continue to use our site OK