Home / Letter M / Metronomy


Metronomy is an electronic and alternative band formed in 1999 by Joseph Mount in Totnes, a town in South Devon, England. The current group consists of Joseph Mount (compositions, vocals, keyboards and guitar), Anna Prior (drums and vocals), Oscar Cash (saxophone, keyboards, guitar and chorus), Olugbenga Adelekan (bass and choruses) and Michael Lovett (guitar, keyboards, choirs). Their production corresponds more to instrumental music, where the instrument takes precedence over the voice and that was confirmed with the release of the album Nights Out, album both pop and electro.

Under the name of Metronomy, Joseph Mount has also made remixes of artists such as Gorillaz, Roots Manuva, Franz Ferdinand, Klaxons, Goldfrapp, Young Knives, Zero 7, Ladytron, Paradise, Kate Nash, Lady Gaga and Lykke Li.

Metronomy has released six albums: Pip Paine, The Nights Out, The English Riviera, Love Letters, Summer 08 and Metronomy Forever.

Joseph Mount founded Metronomy while he was still living in Devon. It was for him a work parallel to his other projects. It was using an old computer that Mount started making his own electronic compositions. The name of the group "Metronomy" was chosen by Mount who simply found that it "sounded" good. Before moving to Brighton and finally settling in London, Mount wrote and recorded the music. Oscar Cash and Gabriel Stebbing join him on stage to play his tracks. Their reputation begins to build through concerts. However, in 2010, Gabriel Stebbing left the group to devote himself to his own band Your Twenties>. Then Anna Prior and Olugbenga Adelekan join Mount and Cash: Metronomy gets a new visibility.

© All rights reserved 2024. GProTab.net
This website uses cookies for functionality, analytics as described in our Privacy Policy. If you agree to our use of cookies, please continue to use our site OK