Home / Letter S / Stryper


Stryper is a Christian American heavy metal band from Orange County, California>. The band's band includes Michael Sweet (vocals, guitar), Oz Fox (guitar), Tim Gaines (bass guitar), and Robert Sweet (drums). In 2004, Gaines left the group and was replaced by Tracy Ferrie (bass) but returned in 2009.

Formed in 1983 under the name of Roxx Regime, the group changes its name to reflect its Christian faith. It becomes the first openly heavy metal Christian group that is accepted by the general public. In 1983, they signed to Enigma Records and released their first album The Yellow and Black Attack. In the mid-1980s, Stryper enjoyed a period of success with the album To Hell with the Devil, which is certified platinum. Stryper publishes two more albums certified gold in 1992. In 2003, Stryper meets then signs with Big3 Records in 2005. In 2013, they sign with Frontiers Records, and publish the album Second Coming. Fallen is published on October 16, 2015.

The name of Stryper is inspired by the Bible of King James.

The Sweet brothers became Christians in 1975, but began to lose faith. They join the church under the encouragement of their friend Kenny Metcalf (their first touring keyboard player) >>>. Inspired by groups like Van Halen, but dissatisfied with their message, they decide to start their own group, which will reveal to the public their faith and their view of the world. Stryper is originally named Roxx Regime and consists of the brothers Michael Sweet singing and solo guitar, and Robert Sweet on drums; they are joined by Eric Johnson on bass, with whom they form a trio. Oz Fox will finally join the group>. Before Oz Fox's arrival, a number of guitarists nearly joined Roxx Regime, like Doug Aldrich and C.C. DeVille>.

© All rights reserved 2024. GProTab.net
This website uses cookies for functionality, analytics as described in our Privacy Policy. If you agree to our use of cookies, please continue to use our site OK