Home / Letter O / The Ocean collective

The Ocean collective

The Ocean (or The Ocean Collective) is a German post-metal group from Berlin. The band was founded in 2001 by guitarist Robin Staps. However, the first stable line-up of the group dates from 2009 during the recording sessions for albums Heliocentric and Anthropocentric. The Ocean was founded in 2001 by guitarist and songwriter Robin Staps. Over the next two years, nearly 40 musicians joined and left the band until a stable line-up was established. In July 2002, The Ocean played its first concert at the Eimer Club in Berlin. Soon after, they released their first album, Islands/Tides. After a brief tour with the Swedish punk crust group Coma at the beginning of 2003, the band signed to the Make My Day Records label, and released the EP Fluxion in August 2004; distributed with the efforts of the labels Make My Day and Throne Records. Although the band now uses song pieces that will make their music accessible to a wider audience, they are considered by critics as a step backwards in terms of originality and innovation. In several interviews, the group emphasizes the closed spirit of these critics and their inability to tolerate anti-Christian, anti-theistic lyrics now added to the sound of The Ocean. After signing them to Metal Blade Records in summer 2005>, the second half of the recording session is published in the album Aeolian was to appear in double CD format with a brutal part and a melodic - which did not work for financial reasons> and because Aeolian are released in microgroove disc format on the Throne Records> label. At the end of 2007, they released the album Precambrian. In April 2008, The Ocean embarked on a year-long tour of Europe and America with Intronaut, Opeth, and At The Gates>. On November 17, 2009, Robin Staps announced a replacement singer, Loic Rossetti>. The Ocean released two albums in 2010, Heliocentric on April 9, and ", with Heliocentric which describes internal battles with the Catholic Church on the heliocentrism of Copernicus and Galilee. On August 3, 2011, The Ocean announced on Facebook the beginning of their new album with Robin Staps. They are starting recording in early 2012 and are evaluating the possibility of producing a double album. In an article in MetalSucks, Robin explains the possible upcoming release of their album in April and May 2013>. The group published Pelagial on April 29, 2013 in the United States. The CD version contains two discs. On October 20, 2013, the band announced the departure of guitarist Jonathan Nido and drummer Luc Hess>. Paul Seidel, from War From A Harlots Mouth (en), later replaces Hess for their tour at the end of 2013>. On December 8, 2013, Robin Staps announced on Facebook the arrival of the new guitarist Damian Murdoch>.

© All rights reserved 2024. GProTab.net
This website uses cookies for functionality, analytics as described in our Privacy Policy. If you agree to our use of cookies, please continue to use our site OK