Home / Letter U / The Undertones

The Undertones

The Undertones is a British punk rock band from Derry, Northern Ireland. Between 1975 and 1983, the Undertones include Feargal Sharkey (vocals), John O'Neill (rhythm guitar, vocals), Damian O'Neill (lead guitar, vocals), Michael Bradley (bass, vocals) and Billy Doherty (drums). The Undertones released thirteen singles and four studio albums between 1978 and 1983 before Sharkey announced his intention to leave the band in May 1983 due to musical differences.

The Undertones remains the most popular band in Derry and Northern Ireland.

The Undertones are formed in Derry, Northern Ireland, in 1974>. The group includes brothers John O'Neill (guitar) and Damian O'Neill (guitar, keyboards, vocals) and their high school classmates Michael Bradley (bass, vocals), Billy Doherty (drums) and Feargal Sharkey (vocals)> . After a few rehearsals, the group of teenagers gives their first concerts, at this period, still without name. The group is named after The Undertones.

In 1976, they discovered American punk rock, mainly Ramones and Iggy and the Stooges.

© All rights reserved 2024. GProTab.net
This website uses cookies for functionality, analytics as described in our Privacy Policy. If you agree to our use of cookies, please continue to use our site OK