Home / Letter W / Woods of ypres

Woods of ypres

Woods of Ypres is a Canadian blackened doom metal band from Windsor, Ontario. Formed in 2002, it originally comprised three members: David Gold, Aaron Palmer, and Brian McManus. This training will change and will see more than 20 members, and the group will relocate to Toronto between 2003 and 2007, and Sault Ste. Marie between 2008 and 2011. David Gold, the only permanent member, dies in December 2011, just before the release of Woods 5: Gray Skies and Electric Light, which will win a Juno Award in 2013 in the category of "hard / metal album of the year" .

Woods of Ypres was formed in Windsor, Ontario, in 2002 by David Gold, Aaron Palmer, and Brian McManus. The trio releases its first Woods of Ypres demo, Against the Seasons: Cold Winter Songs from the Dead Summer Heat , the same year. After McManus leaves during the year, Woods of Ypres becomes a quintet with new members. That same December, David Gold moves to Toronto to work on a first album. After the departure of singer Chris Jones, David replaces him with vocals and guitar. In 2004, their first album, "Pursuit of the Sun & Allure of the Earth" , was released on David Gold's record label, Krankenhaus Records.

Woods of Ypres' third album, "Woods III: The Deepest Roots and Darkest Blues" , was released in late 2007. Different from the previous two albums, the critic Laura Taylor writes that "even if Pursuit of the Sun recalls the metallic Pink Floyd, the latest installment of Woods is moving towards black and dark metal>. In 2008, the group poses on the cover of the Unrestrained! Magazine>.

After stopping in South Korea, David Gold delocalizes his band in Sault Ste. Marie in 2008, where he joins forces with local metal band Gates of Winter to form the sextet of Woods of Ypres. After several training changes, the band recorded their fourth album, Woods IV: The Green Album , the following year. Posted November 2009, Exclaim! consider it "the most amorphous and powerful creature of the group". "

© All rights reserved 2024. GProTab.net
This website uses cookies for functionality, analytics as described in our Privacy Policy. If you agree to our use of cookies, please continue to use our site OK