Home / Letter F / Four tops

Four tops

You can improve his writing !

The Four Tops is an American quartet of Motown whose repertoire consisted mainly of doo-wop, jazz, soul, R & B and disco styles.

The band, originally from Detroit, was made up of the following members: Levi Stubbs (a cousin of singer Jackie Wilson), Abdul "Duke" Fakir, Renaldo "Obie" Benson, and Lawrence Payton. The original formation has existed for more than forty years (from 1953 to 1997), the first membership change following the death of Lawrence Payton on June 20, 1997. In the following years, the other members leave the group successively, then subsequently replaced by other acquaintances like Theo (formerly a member of The Temptations) who was recruited as a new member. Peoples eventually became the lead singer when Stubbs suffered a stroke in 2000, but Peoples was soon replaced by Ronnie McNeir.

Among their biggest titles are I Can not Help Myself (Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch) and Reach Out I'll Be There (adapted later in French under the title J'attendrai by Claude François). In 1972, the Four Tops leave Motown and sign at ABC Records. They continue to record hits in the 1980s under various labels.

© All rights reserved 2024. GProTab.net
This website uses cookies for functionality, analytics as described in our Privacy Policy. If you agree to our use of cookies, please continue to use our site OK