Home / Letter N / Norther


Norther is a Finnish melodic death metal band from Espoo. the band has a total of six studio albums, three EPs and five singles. It was originally formed in 1996 under the name of Requiem, changed four years later, in 2000, for Decayed, and finally for Norther.

They released their first studio album entitled "Dreams of Endless War " in 2002, followed by Mirror of Madness in 2003, Death Unlimited in 2004, Till Death Units Us in 2006, N in 2008, and Circle Regenerated in 2011. On July 24, 2012, members announce on their website the end of the band and their last concert will be at the Brutal Assault Festival on August 10th.

The group was formed at the beginning of 1996 under the name Requiem>. It initially consists of guitarist Petri Lindroos and drummer Toni Hallio, accompanied by other musicians. At the beginning of its existence, the group lacked places to rehearse, but towards the end of 1997, the guitarist Alexander Kuoppala (ex-Children of Bodom) found them a room in Lepakko that allowed them to play; they decided to change their name Requiem to Decayed. After the demolition of their rehearsal room, the musicians who played with Petri Lindroos and Toni Hallio leave Decayed.

After a few unsuccessful months, the group finally finds a new place of practice, and looks for new members. Despite several auditions, they do not find members able to mingle with their style, and the group lives until the beginning of the year 2000, when they meet the guitarist Kristian Ranta. The group becomes active again, and thanks to the help of two brothers, friends of Lindroos-Sebastian and Joakim Ekroos - the group decides to record a demo for the first time under the name of Norther. This demo allows them to sign a contract with Spinefarm Records>.

© All rights reserved 2024. GProTab.net
This website uses cookies for functionality, analytics as described in our Privacy Policy. If you agree to our use of cookies, please continue to use our site OK