Home / Letter A / A day to remember

A day to remember

A Day to Remember is an American rock and easycore band from Ocala, Florida. The group currently consists of singer Jeremy McKinnon, guitarist and singer Neil Westfall, bassist Joshua Woodard, percussionist and drummer Alex Shelnutt and guitarist Kevin Skaff. The band is differentiated by pop punk melodies, combined with rhythms influenced by hardcore (two steps, mosh part).

After signing with the Indianola label for the commercialization of their first album, titled And Their Name Was Treason (2005), Scruggs is replaced by Shelnutt in 2006. Later that same year, the group released Victory's 2007 "For Those Who Have Heart" (2007). The band embarks on numerous tours in the United Kingdom and the United States, in addition to having played in many festivals, before recording and marketing their album Homesick (2009). While promoting Homesick during their tour, Denney was replaced by Skaff. Shortly after, the band recorded an album, What Separates Me from You (2010), and went on a world tour. In 2011, the group filed a lawsuit against their Victory label, which ended in October 2013. The group recorded its fifth album, entitled Common Courtesy span> (2013), the same month.

After all playing in different bands of the Ocala music scene, singer Jeremy McKinnon, guitarists Neil Westfall and Tom Denney, bassist Joshua Woodard and drummer Bobby Scruggs meet in 2003. Shortly after, the group undertakes a tour, with more than 200 shows, to make a name. The band released an independent extended play> sold during their tour>. The group signed at Indianola Records, where they recorded the first album, entitled in February 2005> sold more than 8,000 >>> copies. Woodard explains: "One of my friends said he knows someone at Victory Records. I did not believe it, but I made contact with the guy. We communicated for about six months, and we played with On the Last Day, in a city on the Chicago side and that guy was there, he filmed. It was the first time we played in Illinois, but the 50 or 60 people present sang our songs, it was like they were going to be fans for life. "

Shortly after signing with Victory Records, the band and its new drummer, Alex Shellnutt, enters Zing Studio to record the second album. The album, titled For Those Who Have Heart , was released in January 2007 at Victory Records>, and culminated in the 17> Billboard Top Heatseekers and 43> from the list Top Independent Albums>. On September 24, 2007, he takes Kelly Clarkson's single, Since U Been Gone and publish it on MySpace>. He is then present on the reissue of For Those Who Have Heart , marketed in February 2008> and finished at the 43> place of the Top Independent Albums> .

© All rights reserved 2023. GProTab.net
This website uses cookies for functionality, analytics as described in our Privacy Policy. If you agree to our use of cookies, please continue to use our site OK