Home / Letter A / Arctic monkeys

Arctic monkeys

Arctic Monkeys is a British rock band from Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England. He was trained in 2002, specifically in High Green, a suburb of Sheffield. The band consists of Alex Turner (vocals, rhythm guitar, guitar), Jamie Cook (lead guitar, rhythm guitar), Nick O'Malley (bass, backing vocals), and Matt Helders (drums, backing vocals). Former band member Andy Nicholson (bass guitar, backing vocals) leaves the band in 2006, shortly after the release of the first album.

They released six studio albums: Whatever People Say I Am, That's What I'm Not (2006), Favorite Worst Nightmare (2007), Humbug (2009), Suck It and See (2011), AM (2013), and Tranquility Base. Hotel and Casino (2018), as well as a live album, at Apollo (2008). Their debut album becomes the fastest sold by a group in UK history.

The band has won seven Brit Awards, winning the Best British Band Award and the Best British Album Award three times, and has been nominated three times for the Grammy Awards. They also won the Mercury Prize in 2006 for their debut album, and received nominations in 2007 and 2013. The band is headlining the Glastonbury Festival twice, in 2007 and 2013.

In 2001, Alex Turner and Jamie Cook asked for musical instruments at Christmas and both received a guitar. After learning to play, the pair formed a band with two other students from Stocksbridge High School, Andy Nicholson and Matt Helders. Since Nicholson was already playing bass, Helders turns to the drums: "That's all there was left ... they all had guitars, so I bought a drum kit after a while." Helders explains that he learned to play as a self-taught "simply equipped with a book and chopsticks" .

© All rights reserved 2024. GProTab.net
This website uses cookies for functionality, analytics as described in our Privacy Policy. If you agree to our use of cookies, please continue to use our site OK