Home / Letter E / Eternal tears of sorrow

Eternal tears of sorrow

Eternal Tears of Sorrow , often abbreviated EToS , is a Finnish melodic death metal band, with a Gothic tendency, from Pudasjärvi in ​​Northern Ostrobothnia.

The group is initially formed under the name Andromeda in 1991>. They changed their name in 1993 to D.W.N., then the same year to Moshington D.C. before changing permanently to Eternal Tears of Sorrow>. Eternal Tears of Sorrow was formed in 1994 by Jarmo Puolakanaho, Altti Veteläinen and Olli-Pekka Törrö, following numerous musical projects alongside the future members of Eternal Tears of Sorrow. Andromeda, a first project focused death, doom and thrash metal is put in inactivity.

Not knowing, then, where to repeat, the three members decide to start a parallel project (MDC) and record a demo tape, "Beyond The Fantasy < In the spring of 1994, they recorded a new demo, The Seven Goddesses of Frost . Then the group decides to change their name to something more serious, Eternal Tears of Sorrow . Between 1994 and 1996, the band appeared on several European and Canadian compilations, then recorded their first album "Sinner's Serenade" . It takes more than a year to be distributed by X-Treme Records>, a small independent label located in Gothenburg, Sweden. After recording their second (self-produced) album, Spinefarm Records tracks the band and offers them a contract>. Their third album, Chaotic Beauty (on which three new members are presented since the departure of Olli-Pekka Törrö)>, leads them to a tour alongside Nightwish and Sinergy. Their fourth album, A Virgin and a Whore, reaches the top 40 in Finland. After four albums, the group announces its rupture and dissolves at the end of 2003.

In February 2005, the group announces its return. Their fifth album, Before the Bleeding Sun , is published in April 2006 (except for Russia and Japan, countries where it will appear later). This album reaches the 26> place of the top 40 finnois>. At the end of 2008, the band announces the commitment of Jarmo Kylmänen (one of the authors of their songs since 2005) as an official member. Soon after, their drummer Petri Sankala leaves the group because of back pain. At the beginning of April 2009, Risto Ruuth left the group, and the latter replaced him with Mika Lammassaari>. The group's sixth album, Children of the Dark Waters , was released in May 2009, distributed to the Suomen Musiikki label in Finland, Massacre Records in Europe, and Marquee / Avalon in Asia>. A new single, Tears of Autumn Rain , has been released in Finland, Japan, and on their official MySpace page. The other track of the single is a re-recorded version of Vilda Mánnu, featured in their second album. Children of the Dark Waters reached the 19th> place of the top 40 finnois>.

© All rights reserved 2024. GProTab.net
This website uses cookies for functionality, analytics as described in our Privacy Policy. If you agree to our use of cookies, please continue to use our site OK