Home / Letter P / Pretty maids

Pretty maids

Pretty maids Pretty Maids is a Danish heavy metal band from Horsens. He was trained in 1981 by Ronnie Atkins and Ken Hammer in Horsen.

Pretty Maids was formed in 1981 by two friends Ken Hammer and Ronnie Atkins in Horsens, Denmark. These two musicians, coauthors of the songs, will meet in all the different formations of Pretty Maids. The name of the group comes from a book entitled Pretty Maids All in a Row written by Francis Pollin>. The group has its roots in the formation of Pretty Pretty Panick, and initially performs only covers of songs. He begins to write his own songs and eventually released a self-financed demo that allows him to win a contract with the British label Bullet Records.

In 1983, the group released their first EP of the same name and began a British tour the same year that was very successful. Inevitably the band becomes too big for their label, and in 1984, they sign at CBS Records, which reissues this EP. In 1984, the band released their first studio album, Red, Hot and Heavy, which is a success. The second album follows in 1987 under the name Future World, it is recorded in New York with the famous producer Eddie Kramer. The sound of this album becomes the band's reference: aggressive and melodic rock. At this time, the band is composed of six members: a singer, two guitarists, a bassist, drummer and keyboardist, this is a rare formation for the time when keyboards are still not very present on the heavy metal scene.

In 1990 appeared Jump the Gun, an album produced by Roger Glover, the bassist of Deep Purple. This disc offers riffs in the same vein as the previous creations of the band. Despite all the efforts of the label to reach the world charts with this record, it never took off, except in Japan. The album does not meet the expected success in full wave grunge the group explodes, leaving only the founding members Ron Atkins and Ken Hammer. The two founders of the group refuse to stop there the adventure, they recruit the drummer Michael Fast and the bassist Kenn Jackson, and record Sin-Decade in 1992 with the famous producer of Metallica Flemming Rasmussen. Rhythm guitars are particularly powerful and keyboards are less present than in previous albums. The single from the album, Please Do not Leave Me, a cover of John Sykes and Phil Lynott, is intended for a wider audience.

© All rights reserved 2024. GProTab.net
This website uses cookies for functionality, analytics as described in our Privacy Policy. If you agree to our use of cookies, please continue to use our site OK