Home / Letter A / The Ataris

The Ataris

The Ataris is an American punk rock band from Anderson, Indiana. Shortly after its creation in 1995, the group included a singer, a composer and two guitarists. They write and record their first demos in Kris' room using a tape recorder. It was in 1996 that the band took a decisive turn when Kris succeeded in passing a demo of the band to Joe Escalante, founder of The Vandals in early 1997>. The Vandals, owners of their own label, Kung Fu Records, only took a few weeks to contact Kris and ask him to record. Kung Fu Records, still looking for a drummer for The Ataris, will play the demo to several drummers, and it is finally Derrick Plourde (ex-Lagwagon) who will catch Kris' attention. The Ataris' first album, Anywhere but Here, was completed in less than a week and released on April 29, 1997 (American date). The band will mark the release of this album with a concert on May 2 in Indianapolis, on Missing Link Records. The album caught the attention of Fat Mike, head of the Fat Wreck Chords label. The Ataris enthusiastically signs to Fat Wreck and publishes an EP, Look Forward to Failure, produced by several members of the Descendents>. In early 1999, the band released their second album, Blue Skies, Broken Hearts... Next 12 Exits>. After the release of the album, they toured with MxPx, Blink-182, and Homegrown before releasing Let It Burn in 2000>. End is Forever followed in 2001, before the release of the album So Long, Astoria on Major Columbia Records>. The album features the new guitarist John Collura>. A stage performance at the Metro followed in February 2004>. After Kris' departure to California and a difficult period, the group gradually gained credibility and became famous, slowly but surely. Several albums followed, until June 2006 when the band announced that they no longer wanted to work with Columbia Records. In November 2006, The Ataris launched their own label, Isola Recordings, distributed by Sanctuary Records and RED Distribution, and announced the release of their album Welcome the Night (February 20, 2007) on the same day, after which the group toured the United States and Europe. Five members participate, Bob Hoag and Angus Cooke playing only exceptionally. Welcome the Night made its debut in 85> position in the charts>, with no less than 10,000 copies sold.

© All rights reserved 2024. GProTab.net
This website uses cookies for functionality, analytics as described in our Privacy Policy. If you agree to our use of cookies, please continue to use our site OK