Home / Letter M / The Mars volta

The Mars volta

The Mars Volta is an American rock band from El Paso, Texas. It was formed in 2001 around Cedric Bixler-Zavala and Omar Rodríguez-López. They are more generally classified in progressive rock, also including jazz, punk, funk metal, Latin and psychedelic influences. In 2009, the band won a Grammy Award in the best hard rock performance category for the song Wax Simulacra>. In 2008, they were named best prog rock band by Rolling Stone magazine. In September 2012, the Mars Volta took a break, and Omar Rodríguez-López and Parks formed a new project called Bosnian Rainbows>. Four months later, the group split up. In 2001, the Texas group At the Drive-In split up. Two of the former members of the group - Cedric Bixler-Zavala and Omar Rodríguez-López - fall back on their parallel dub project De Facto, which they share with Ikey Owens (ex-Long Beach Dub Allstars) and Jeremy Ward. The latter group recruits Jon Theodore (Golden, former Royal Trux and Him) and Eva Gardner. Thus was born The Mars Volta>.

© All rights reserved 2024. GProTab.net
This website uses cookies for functionality, analytics as described in our Privacy Policy. If you agree to our use of cookies, please continue to use our site OK